Friday, 27 April 2012

Love You Like a Fat Kid Loves Cake but Your Not Gettin The Cake

So yesterday I am shopping at Costco, getting some healthy groceries for myself and my lil guy and after a hard day of shopping I decided to treat myself and cheat and have a slice of pizza. Now everyone is allowed a cheat day, and yesterday was my cheat day. This does not mean I cheated all day, just the moment I ordered pizza. Anyways I digress. So I am enjoying my pizza when I notice what looks to be a 16 yr old boy, so obese that he must use a motorized scooter to get around the warehouse. This saddened me immensly. It also made me think about just why are so many kids obese like this. This boy shouldnt be in a scooter but walking, playing football, and trying to hit on girls. I noticed next to him was his sister, also obese and looked to be about 12. She wasnt as obese as her brother, but she was well on her way, and then I saw their mother, also obese. All three of them sat and munched down on fries, pizza, and pop, and other goodies. It struck me as so sad, because these children didnt have a chance.  Have I been overweight? YES!!! have I been obese???? NO. Is my son overweight???? Not even an once of fat on the kid, hes got the metabolism that all women would die for. But I couldnt help but feel anger towards the mother. If the mother wants to fill her stomach full of fatty stuff thats her perogative, but her children were so obviously obese to the point one could barely walk, and shes feeding her children with junk????????? Even if these poor kids wanted to be healthy how can they? They dont buy the groceries, and by the looks of it, these children just eat what their mother supplies them with...junk. It boggles my mind as a parent, that if you saw your child getting that big, that you wouldnt change their diets and get these kids to eat healthy and start moving. Doesnt this parent want their children to be healthy??? But perhaps not. If the mother is unhealthy and obese, then perhaps she doesnt see the benefits of happy healthy children. I am by no means a perfect mother, but when I see children so big they cant walk, it makes me want to scream at the parents. I can understand where in some places children's services have been called on these families, because in a way it is like abuse. To not put your child's health and well being first, and to continualy set your child up for failure, and poor health is negectful at best. We wonder why there is an epidemic of obese children in America, but the target shouldnt be to the children, but rather to the parents. Because it is the parents who feed their children, and it is the parents who buy the groceries and the fast food,and it should be the parents who are making sure the food going into their children are healthy. Now I realize there are children who suffer illnesses and are on medications that can cause weight gain, and that is something both parents and the children have no control over, but is the parents who feel Mcdonalds and pizza are better choices than chicken and veggies that get me burning. Everyone is entititled to a treat here and there. Hell i just treated myself to a slice of pizza yesterday, but its in moderation. I really pray for that child I saw yesterday and that one day he can lose the weight and live a long and healthy life, but I know that as long as his mother is sabatoging his chances, the poor boy will likely suffer from an aray of health conditions and it may be too late before it happens.

No comments:

Post a Comment